The muse unveiled

Welcome to Wicked Writer Wednesday #WWW

For years we all have had a muse. Some are women, some are men and some are just plain weird. Not to mention unhinged, narcissistic, shy, outlandish, outspoken and rude. But, no matter who our muse is, we try to listen to them. This muse is just another facet of being a writer that is so cool. You get to have an alter ego. Like Superman and Clark Kent.

I have a friend on twitter (Hey @keyaquests!) who stops by at #pubwrite to get his muse drunk. His muse is a fairy with a sword. He goes to #pubwrite to shut her up because she can’t hold her liquor. Now, if I were to say that to someone who wasn’t a writer, they would look at me like I had only one brain cell working.

So after being unplugged last weekend I finally decided that my muse needed to open up about who or what it was. I have always had trouble trying to detect if my muse is a girl or a boy, old or young, crabby or nice. Its kinda of like a stealth muse. Sneaks in, offers suggestions and then gone in the blink of an eye. So I thought, maybe my muse is shy.

Nope I discovered today not shy. Definitely not shy. My muse is a demon. A dyed-in-the-wool demon. Won’t give me his name because names have power. Won’t look me in the face, but has decided that being snarky is his thing. I posted on Facebook yesterday that I was going to write 5000 words. Nice goal to shoot for and if done right, easily attainable.

Wrong.

I spent the first 6 hours being distracted by suggestions he made. Let’s sort your yarn stash (for knitting) and donate what you won’t use. Let’s scrub the kitchen cupboards. Let’s clean the bathroom. Word count out of 5000 words? 1248.

So my muse has decided that now,  sabotage is his thing. I think I pissed him off when I posted about Demons and world domination. Productivity is going right out the window. So I need some ideas on how to whip my muse back into shape. 

What works for you when your muse turns to sabotage? Have you ever fired a muse? Had violent disagreements with your muse? Do you have multiple muses? Do you wish you had a demon muse? Got one cheap.

Thanks for stopping by. I’m just going to sit here and wait for the exorcist to show up.

15 thoughts on “The muse unveiled

    • Thanks Leanne! I appreciate the love. :D

      And thank you so much for subscribing. You are a sweetie!

  1. I love this! My own Muse is very talented. He can change into anything I need him to be… in order to get my muse on. :)

    Mostly, he’s a seriously gorgeous highland warrior with striking cheekbones and a sexy accent. When I run my ideas past him, he tells me if they are good or not– and even if he doesn’t think they are, I don’t mind hearing it because of the aforementioned sexy accent. :)

    • Hmm, maybe if I don’t use the exorcist maybe my demon/muse will talk in a sexy accent – aussie, works for me! I like a deep dark voice, one that reminds me of dark chocolate! Yummy!

  2. Hi Shelle
    Ha. 1248? If only! I met up with my wip for the first time last night in a couple of weeks. The whole blogging and life thing has taken so much lately. Need to get better at switching wi-fi off! When the exorcist turns up, could you send him (her?) over?
    Oh, and maybe they could do something about that spider! :)
    Cheers

    • Nigel, you always make me smile! And yes, if you like, I will take the spider off. Apparently too many people find him creepy. So on friday he will be gone!

      Yes, blogging, tweeting and Facebook have been taking to much of my time lately. I need Kristen’s discipline!

  3. heh.
    Someone once told me I had to “know my audience” and keep them in mind. Ok, well, given that my husband doesn’t read poetry, I picked Gerard Butler. And until I find he loathes poetry too, I’m sticking with him. The muse?

    Surprise-party muse.

    I do my best to write without it, and just when I least expect it (putting my kids to bed, or Finally being ready to fall asleep myself) I get 6 stanzas or so of poetry. Which I either have to memorize, or stumble downstairs to get it down on paper. Is the muse a demon? Not sure, but it’s perverse, to say the least. (And, clearly in cahoots with mr. insomnia. And, thank-you-kindly-but-no, I….ah…think I’ll pass on yours!)

    I love your blog. will be by more often. Now, get some blinks :-)

  4. Sweet dreams. And I love listening to Gerard Butler. Another yummy voice.

    Let’s dream of sexy, yummy guys giving us a massage. Yeah, I can see that!

  5. Hi Shellie,

    My muse thinks it’s an abomination that any muse would sabotage or distract a writer from writing. (I think he’s filling out a complaint to the “Muse Guild” (whatever that is) on your behalf as I’m typing this.) :)

    Now, having said that, I think some muses can get ornery when we’re not listening to what they’re saying – sort of like writer’s block. So maybe make sure the story is going in the direction it’s supposed to and hopefully your demon will be back on board. :)

    • After I posted this we had a little sit down chat. And we have come to a meeting of his mind. Apparently he recieved a phone call a little while ago…

      Hmm, wonder if it was from the Guild? Anywho, we will now be working with each other instead of against each other. :D

      Tell your muse, I said, “Thank you!”

    • I got to 1248 and the next day it dropped to 412. Too much going on. Graduation of yd, family coming in for grad day, husband coming home, going to Calif for 3 mos. All of that in the next 2.5 weeks. YIKES!

      Thank you so much for the Kuddoes!!

    • You are lucky. My husband is allergic to cats. :/

      My muse is just cranky. So when he feels the need to be bad he distracts me from writing. At least he is not being truly evil. We had a talk and I found out that he is only wicked not evil. So that is right up my alley!

      I will send your muse some catnip. And then see what kind of inspiration you get! LOL!

Leave a Reply

