My Dads

I am fortunate that I have two dads. One is my father-in-law and the other my father. I lost my father to liver cancer 2 years and one week ago. He passed away on his birthday, he was 81. I still have my father-in-law to share time with. Because to be quite frank that’s all we do is share time. It is not ours forever, it is not permanent. It is shared. One day we have to give it back to a higher power.

It is not my intention to speak of such a depressing subject on a day of remembrance. It is my intention to remind you that living each day, each moment is what counts. I am sure that those of us who have lost loved ones near and dear to our heart would give anything to hear their voice or feel the touch of their hand.

I guess this day of memorial, when we give appreciation to men and women service members has reminded me of the need to be a human being. The need to live in the moment and not in the past/future. We spend so much time looking toward the future and what chore or errand or task that has to be accomplished. We spend so much time regretting a past comment or action or task that was done wrong. How many of you have sat at home at night reliving the day and winced at a comment you made? Or cursed yourself for forgetting a birthday/anniversary?

My dad was in the Navy at Pearl Harbor. I am most fortunate that he lived through the attack or I would not be here. Or at least I would not be the person I am now. My father-in-law was in the Army and lived through battles in Germany. I am fortunate he lived because I would not have my wonderful husband.

Time is shared. It is not permanent. We need to make sure that the people who are important to us know it. We never know when that kiss given in haste will be the last.

Please hold onto your loved ones, kiss them and tell them how much they mean to you.

Time is shared, make it count.

Thanks for stopping by – and for those in the military “THANK YOU”. I do appreciate you.

7 thoughts on “My Dads

  1. Thank you for this post. My father was in the Army in France and Germany; I’m fortunate he survived. He didn’t care to remember, or at least to share his memories, but I remember, and I echo your thanks.

    • My father-in-law will absolutely not talk about what happened. He was wounded pretty bad and still has a limp to this day. I don’t press him because it is his right not to re-live the horror.

      Thanks for the comment.

  2. Shelley, I know what you mean. I recently wrote about loss on my blog. And I too want to shake people and tell them that the ones that can’t be here would give everything to have the opportunity we have everyday — time is precious. We shouldn’t waste it.

    Thank you for your post! *hugs*

Leave a Reply

