Fun, isn’t friday supposed to be fun?

I am enrolled in Candace Havens’ Comprehensive Writing Class. We start fast draft today.

For those of you who don’t know what fast draft is, you put in enough time each day to reach a goal of 20 pages. You give yourself permission to write a crappy first draft. You send your internal editor on a long much-needed vacation. And last but not least you make yourself accountable for those 20 pages a day for two weeks. No Whining is allowed.  

No whining, you say? 20 pages a day for TWO WEEKS? Wow.

Yeah, I know. I want to say no problem. I want to say piece of cake. But, that would make me a big fat liar. I am shaking in my shoes. And to make it worse for myself, I decided to do it pencil and paper. When I am doing my wip on the computer and those little red lines or green lines appear, I immediately want to go backwards and fix it. That loses momentum in the story because then I am revising as I go. Nope, can’t do that with pencil and paper. If it’s misspelled it’s going to stay misspelled until I transcribe it into the computer. That way I can revise and input all at the same time. Clever? Or sadomasochistic?

I am starting to believe that I have to like a little bit of self-torture or otherwise I would run screaming in the opposite direction when Candy said we were doing fast draft. LOL!

No, seriously. I really believe that this will help me with my wip and my reluctance to sit down and actually write. Because, I still think deep down inside that I am a fraud. That everyone is more clever, more talented, just more than me. Silly right? Welcome to the world of the insecure writer. You can have the seat right next to me……..

Would you like to do a fast draft? Do you have self-imposed obstacles to writing time? What is your favorite excuse you use for not writing? Or are you so disciplined you make my teeth hurt? What is your favorite method for writing?

Thanks for stopping by……need to go sharpen all of my pencils and make sure I have lots of paper! LOL!

8 thoughts on “Fun, isn’t friday supposed to be fun?

  1. Is there a drink with a little umbrella in it in that seat next to you? Or can I bring a cooler of Coronas and limes?
    I need a t-shirt that has the international ‘against’ thing on it: Fraud in the middle of the circle with a line through it. Maybe if I sleep in it it’ll get through to me via osmosis.
    Okay… where is this class?

  2. I’m in the other seat with a frosty glass of lemonade. Good luck on your endeavor; it sounds like fun. I’m going to check out that link and see what it’s all about.

  3. Fast Draft sounds like fun–in a highly theoretical way, of course. What a stack of pages you’ll have at the end of two weeks. Now I have to check out the link.

    • Supposed to have 280 pages at the end of the two weeks. Which is a mid size novel. Then the next phase is revision hell. Candy does love to torture!

      And it is fun in a perverse beat-yourself-over-the-head-with-a-phonebook kinda way! LOL!

    • Thank you Jenny!!

      I did 19 pages and revised the first 39 of my wip yesterday (6/17). That for me is FANTASTIC for a single day and especially the first day of this project. I patted myself on the back! LOL!

      Thank you for the love……

Leave a Reply

