The end is near….where is my hat?

Sorry I haven’t been around much lately. So many things happening, so little time to do them in.

I am nearing the end of my book and realised that I don’t a clue what the ending scene will be like. I mean I have an idea about how it should end. But, I can’t seem to put it on paper in a way that will make sense.  Does this mean I need to write a sequel? Or do I need to cut some of my little darlings so I can make an ending happen? Good night! How did I get myself into this mess? And before you tell me it’s because I am a pantster, I already beat myself up over that one.

Sorry but, I can’t help it. I have tried dozens of ways to plan this story and the damn thing just seems to go in the opposite direction! Planning used to be an essential part of my life. Right down to what I would wear to work for the next week, it was all planned. Then something funny happened: I met my husband. Plans went right out the window. For the last 11 years I haven’t been able to plan until the actual day, or sometimes two days, before the event is supposed to happen. YIKES!

So I can’t find my thinking cap. My plan oriented mind is full of cobwebs. And I have a book that is almost done except for the last scene.

HELP! Any ideas, thoughts and suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I would love to get this one on its way to the revision stage before NaNoWriMo. Yep, I signed up. Did you?

Thanks for stopping by!

PS. I am going to revamp my blog. My wicked self is going on hiatus. And yes, the spider is staying.

4 thoughts on “The end is near….where is my hat?

  1. I feel your fictioning pain–been there, heck I AM there! Will be watching for other folks’ suggestions.

    I think you just write the !@#$%^! ending and then fiddle with it through edits. The first draft is hardest (for me anyway) but the editing is fun. (If I say that loud enough and often enough maybe it’ll rub off and be true…)

  2. I’ve heard that some people write the end first…I don’t know how they do that! Have you written a synopsis yet? That really helped me with the ending. Just a quick one-pager.

    I’m looking forward to the revamped blog. :)

  3. Mom, you are spectacular. Got to love your sense of humor and your smarts. You continue to blow me away everytime. Keep up the good work and thank you so much for being my mom! :D

Leave a Reply

