The Tuesday Train and commercials

Is it just me or are the commercials getting more and more ridiculous? In a ten minute commercial span I can: cure my depression/erectile dysfunction/bladder issues while driving a vehicle that will park itself/get great mileage(yeah, right): texting on my latest phone to my new BFF’s BFFs that I met through eharmony: in the middle of dinner which consists of pizza/a huge (can’t get my mouth around it) hamburger/fried chicken bites/tacos (that aren’t horsemeat!) and save hundreds on car insurance. WOW! I am a super genius!

These commercials are so busy telling us over and over how we need their products to live a fulfilled life. I am sorry, I can live without a rag that soaks up water, or another chemical to add to my laundry because the other detergent (that I pay big bucks for) just doesn’t get the job done. The next commercial that I see about saving me money on car insurance I am going to make them put up or shut up. I want proof that they will save me money. Not some vague commercial that says “Oooh, on average we can save you money!” What is average? 1 out of 5? 1 out of 10? Or is it 1 out of 100?

Remember back in the day when companies sent samples of their new products? So we could actually try them before we bought them? Now if we don’t like it we are stuck with that 50 pound bag of gluten-free/fat-free/taste free cereal that is supposed to be so good for us.

One more rant for the road… How about the serum/lotion/cream that wipe away all signs of aging? And they put it on a twenty-something or thirty-something? Come on! What kind of age spots appear on a twenty-five year old model? Watch out it could actually be a freckle!

Today, I cancelled my dish network. Enough is enough. I can watch DVDs if I want to see a movie and the only commercials are movie promos in the beginning. Fast forward, baby, gotta love it!

Come on board the Tuesday Train, visit with some wonderful bloggers and make new friends!

And if you prefer Twitter, we now have the Twitter Train! Come on by, and meet some great people in the Twitter Train lounge!

2 thoughts on “The Tuesday Train and commercials

Leave a Reply

