The Tuesday Train and road trips

I love road trips. This particular trip is going to be really exciting because we are going to see our youngest daughter for her birthday!

Yeah, it’s a truck, but it rides like a car

So, there are a few rituals involved in getting ready for a road trip.

  1. Wash the truck. It has to be clean and shiny when we go down the road.
  2. My hubby gets a haircut. This one started way before I married him, so reasons are unknown. Just a guy think, I guess.
  3. Stock up on road food. Not to be confused with road kill. Road food is food that has no nutritional value and because you eat it on a road trip, there are no calories.
  4. Pick out a several audiobooks. I introduced my hubby to audiobooks on our first road trip together. He said the company and the book made the miles fly by.
  5. Decide what project to knit while we travel. I found that I can knit (only on the straightaways) something simple while we pound asphalt.
  6. Enjoy the quiet time.

So that is how we make our road trips enjoyable. I guess I am weird because I really do like going places, but then again I like coming home too. It’s the little things in life that can make you happy.

How do you handle a road trip? Any special rituals that you have to complete to make your trip a success? And what are the treats you like to eat on the road? (for hubby it’s twizzlers, for me fiddle-faddle)

Yeah, I know it’s bad! But, ROAD FOOD!!

Take care and enjoy your week!

Come on board the Tuesday Train, visit with some wonderful bloggers and make new friends!

And if you prefer Twitter, we now have the Twitter Train! Come on by, and meet some great people in the Twitter Train lounge!

3 thoughts on “The Tuesday Train and road trips

  1. Since I do the driving when I take a road trip and most of those are only up to East TX or a few to Houston and back, I go with the music picking radio stations with a ton of rock. Of course I have 3 preset stations when I get wtihin range from Dallas. My old favs from when we lived back there. I have a mug of Diet Coke and usually bring some 2 liters with me because I think it’s simpler that way. Nobody else drinks it lol. I also have kept several 20 ounce bottles and I fill those to add to the mug sometimes. Other than that I rarely have anything else. If I have the dollars I will stop and grab a fast food meal enroute. IF not pit stops and back on the road again. I stay with the in-laws and usually they feed me lol.

  2. I adore road trips. If it’s to someplace I haven’t been I’ll do exhaustive research so I know every place I want to stop and see along the way. If it’s a road I travel often, I already know all the stops. As to grooming, I’m like your husband, but worse. I not only need new hair, but a mani/pedi. I think it may have something to do with the wearing clean underwear thing my mom used on me as a kid. I wouldn’t want to be in an emergency room with bad hair and a hangnail.
    I’m not for audiobooks on the road, because noise gives me a headache after a while. I don’t even listen to the radio much, just cds for short breaks when the conversation dies down. I also couldn’t knit, because it doesn’t take too much for me to get roadsick. As to the food, my life is a diet, so I stock up on Slimfast and Special K snack bars, but I like them, so it’s OK. I think I’m at my happiest place when I’m on a new road with my hubby exploring things I’ve never seen.

  3. We just got back from a long road trip…my husband, youngest daughter and I traveled to California and back in our red truck…about 6,000 miles total counting the road trips we made while we were out there. I would like to let my head rest and my butt recover before another one, although I did get about a thousand photos and think many are going to be keepers…if I ever have time to edit them. :D

    We took some protein bars and apples and water to eat on the road, and the daughter brought some candy corn, and I bought some dark chocolate. Any attempt to eat healthy was undermined by all the Starbucks we bought, and the fast food burgers we ate…but I only gained one pound while we were gone…mainly because I made myself throw away half of everything when I was eating. :D I do love road trips… :D

Leave a Reply

