Where’s the tomatoes?

I am writing a book. There I said it out loud. **waits for tomatoes to coming flying** Nothing? **still waiting** Okay, I have to admit that telling anyone ever about me writing a book or even a blog is scary stuff. I, like most sane people, have a serious desire to be liked. Some people (or ferrets @samuel_clemons) are so charming or cute that everyone wants to be their friend. Then there are the others (me) who have wit and a razor-sharp tongue, that more often than not gets them into trouble.

I have the ability to put my foot in my mouth, so quickly that I can break the speed of light.  So, making friends is hard, hard work.

Then I happened to be in Candace Havens online writing class http://www.candacehavens.com/index.php/workshops . She has an amazing talent for creating characters and worlds that seem so realistic that you say “Let’s go there for our next vacation”. And she can crack the writing whip so hard that you automatically say “Yes Ma’am!”  She had Kristen Lamb on to talk to us about social media. Now, I am a lurker when it comes to online classes. I do the work, but, because of my foot/mouth syndrome I tend to not post a lot of comments.

Kristen talked about how a writer should promote themselves on social websites like twitter, Facebook, my space or even on a blog. That by doing this they connect with readers and that encourages readers to purchase your books because they feel that they have a relationship with you, the writer. Good stuff, time proven over and over again. I panicked. Walked away from the computer and didn’t log on again for two days. I looked at the class again and there she was again talking about being social. Gaaahh! I talked to my husband (he gets my jokes) and he said “Go for it”. So, I bought Kristen’s book. I got it e-book style. I let it sit in the computer for a week before I started to read it. Then I would get hives while reading the book just thinking about interacting with people online.

I had my 18 yr old daughter help me set up my Facebook page. I waited. I befriended some family members and waited again. (I was waiting for the internet police to come to my house and tell me to stop it.) I added Kristen, Jami Gold (another wonderful person) and a couple of non-writer non-family friends. Again I waited, and while I was waiting all of these people friended me back! Wow! I have friends! Then Kristen, made me a fly with her Warrior Writer’s Boot Camp. Bam! I had more friends!

Then I set up twitter and this blog on the same day. I followed everyone, on twitter, that I was friends with on Facebook. AND THEY FOLLOWED ME BACK!

This is only my second blog, and I am still waiting for the virtual tomatoes (stole that from Kristen) but, my foot/mouth syndrome is getting better, now I am down to zero to sixty seconds, instead of speed of light! I am not saying that it isn’t hard work coming out of my shell but, I have learned that it will be okay. Because there is always someone out there worse off than me ~cough, Charlie Sheen, cough~. Just saying.

 If you like me are more of a lurker and want to be more social, get Kristen Lamb’s book “We Are Not Alone, a Writer’s guide to social media” or visit her blog http://warriorwriters.wordpress.com/ . She will help you with your social media and give you a good laugh too!

About Shellie Sakai

Reading is a passion. Storytelling is an obsession. Writing is inevitable.
This entry was posted in social media, writers, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Where’s the tomatoes?

  1. i live what i know. i dance, i wiggle, i smile, i dance some more. and naps, lots of naps. i make sarcastic remarks, which is a form of humor that makes a human think about their own foibles and self centered worlds, a lonely place. when i say, “i am the most awesomely gorgeous beautifully handsome ferret on planet earth..” i am a parody of the males on twitter who think they are so good looking. or the hollywood glam chicks who actually believe the rhetoric their managers and handlers and mail room clerks are feeding them, like sheen, who thinks the world is his footstool. they i parody, b/c they are all such easy targets.

    i also parody them because there is a little of them in all of us.

    especially writers.

    we want to be loved, but are never convinced we are fully loved.

    i had a tweet this morning, the guy was educating me on funny. i
    told him: “thanks for providing me such wonderful material, you are the greatest” you know what he said: ‘your welcome, keep coming back…” like the world revolves around him, and i am his student.

    so i keep on stealing socks, and wiggling, and laughing at myself, and not taking myself too seriously… which is a given.

    a typical writer is NEVER happy with the final draft, never sure they are well received, never sure the audience get’s it, likes it, and wants it. so we cannot strive for accolades, or comments or the number of replies we receive. to wit: stephen king is a heckuva writer, sells millions of books, i’ve never written him. two wit: i commented on a mashable article about facebook… It rec’vd exactly NO COMMENTS from readers, not one, except smarmy moi… lil old me.. but guess what, it was retweeted over 500 times! so if we base our writing on the little bit of “public” feedback we get, it may be sparse. but if we base it upon what the editor or writing class thinks, maybe we are getting some honest critiquing.

    so don’t live for the feedback, it may never come, but live to put the very best into each post. edit it first before pressing “submit” and have someone proofread your stuff. don’t be afraid to tweak it a bit after you put it out there, at least in the virtual world we can “edit” we can’t do that with the print editions….

    keep adding content, build a body of work, and maybe you’ll be able to say: “teach me, i’m stupid” and the guy not even recognize sarcasm when it’s directed at him….

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      You are so right! Sacrcasm is my bread and butter, I just am scared to post it. I will have people not like my stuff, I just am afraid of that. Thank you, @Samuel_Clemons, ~hugs~ and lets take a nap!

  2. kerrymeacham says:

    Hey Shellie,

    It’s great to have you online and in WWBC. We’re pretty peaceable…most of the time.

    Like anything else that is outside your comfort zone, the more you do it the less intimidating it becomes. My “outside your comfort zone” situation? Blogging. I too read Kristen’s book, and I’m working on my 15 posts so I have backup when needed. I’m not as concerned about people reading/not reading it as I am about people reading it and they go, “That’s bull$#!+ he’s written.”

    I’m the opposite of a grammar Nazi. I wrote poetry and songs for years, and there’s a certain amount of grammatical leeway your given there. Uhhh…not so much in novels. Anyway, one of my Twitter buddies, Jami Gold, gave me some tips on good grammar reads and I’m devouring them now. “Woe is I” sitting next to me as I’m typing this. Okay, I’m starting to ramble. Great post, because it came from the heart, and you can never go wrong bringing in “the ferret.”

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      Thank you so much Kerry. I don’t have the fifteen posts and this one just came out of left field. I am way more a pantser than I should be. I bought those books that Kristen recommended for WWBC. I had two and I got the others. I am reading James Scott Bell’s Plot and Structure. Excellent read. Thank you again for your wonderful comments.

  3. Jami Gold says:

    Aww, Shellie, you *do* have friends! I think you’re doing a great job so far, so don’t worry, you’ll get it. 🙂

    Like you, I’ve been pleasantly surprised by how helpful and friendly people are, especially on Twitter. And though others might not believe it, these are real friendships. I’m currently on a break from a big deadline and all of my beta readers helping me with my project were people I met on Twitter. They were there when I needed them. What do you know, just like “real” friends. 🙂

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      Thank you Jami. I remember that you were one of the first poeple to friend me and I really appreicated it. I am glad you came out of your deadline cave. I laughed at your “breaks” so you could get a twitter fix! Thanks again. 😉

  4. Piper Bayard says:

    Hi Shellie. Welcome to the blogosphere! Really enjoyed your post. Most people will be nice, but as my partner, Holmes, says, you’re an internet celebrity once you have a dozen trolls under your belt. But don’t worry. Even Kristen doesn’t have that many yet, and she has lots of followers. You have a wonderful voice, and I’m so glad you’re sharing it. All the best.

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      Thank you Piper. So are you Watson to your partner’s Holmes? I know that sooner or later I will have a troll and I hope that I have a thicker skin than I do now! Thanks again! :0

  5. cath says:

    I remember it took me months to start using Facebook after I signed up. And weeks to make that first tweet. My heart still pounds when I respond to an uberTweeter. Or make a comment on a popular blog. But I do it. My foot demands it. Good luck with your writing career!

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      Your foot demands it? I am sitting here laughing thinking of you arguing with your toes! LOL! Thank you for the wonderful comment and yes heart is pounding right now! 😀

  6. Author Kristen Lamb says:

    Where did you get that pic of me with my foot in my mouth? LOL. Man, I still wait for the digital cabbages. Just part of the job. I’m so happy you had the courage to ask to join WWBC on-line. We have an amazing group and it’s wonderful to make you part of the team, :D. Thanks for the shout-out and the gret review, too! You ROCK.

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      Thank you for the wonderful comment! I can’t tell you how happy I am to be part of WWBC. And thanks for the You ROCK! It means alot to me. 😀

Leave a Reply

