A little bit of nostalgia

Ah.. memories. The summer I was 12 and my brother 8, our dad went out and bought us Atari : Pong. It was a simple game, a small white dot bounced back and forth off of white bars that moved up and down. We sat for hours playing that game.  Were we bored? Nope. We played for hours only stopping for bathroom breaks and food. I really think that my mom enjoyed that summer the most. We left her alone. And what mom wouldn’t like a summer of peace?

My next video game was Zelda. On Nintendo 64. I was in heaven. Here was a game that brought all of my fantasy books into 2D reality! Castles, monsters, quests, magic items, magic powers, a princess that needed rescuing by THE HERO!

I got older and lost touch with my gamer side. Kids, work and paying the bills took up most of my day. But, I still thought about Zelda every now and then.

Eight or nine years ago my (now) husband Pete hearing me talk of being a gamer took matters into his own hands. He did some asking around, talked to my girls and voila! for my birthday bought me a Gameboy. With a Zelda game. And it was like I was 12 again. Zelda needed to be saved and Link was going to do it! I played until I beat the game. I found out that Zelda had several games and so I got them all for my gameboy. I have other games but Zelda is my favorite.

I still get to be the hero, save the day, and oh, annihilate some bad guys. It makes sense my love for RPG games and my writing a paranormal book. I will have my castle, my hero and my quest. Life is good.

Did you play video games when you were a kid? Do you let your inner kid out and play them still? Do you think your gamer side influenced your writer side? Let me know. And thanks for stopping by.

About Shellie Sakai

Reading is a passion. Storytelling is an obsession. Writing is inevitable.
This entry was posted in castles, daughters, family, Gameboy, hero, quests, RPG, writing, Zelda and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A little bit of nostalgia

  1. One of the hardest things about emigrating was realising that we’d have to leave my Playstation 2 behind – it wouldn’t work with Canadian TVs, because it was the PAL version. So many great games I had to give up! We eventually got a Wii (and I mean eventually – months we had to wait!) and have started a new games collection, but I still miss some of those playstation ones.
    But when I was a lid, we had a Binatone TV game. It had Pong, and a football version (two sliding lines each) and a gun you could plug in to shoot a target. Didn’t take us long to figure out you could plug in the gun and shoot the ball in pong too….

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      I have to confess that I have a Wii, Playstation 2 and Xbox 360. I am a BIG gamer. But, all the games I have are RGP. Haley is the one who likes the guns..
      I am so sorry you had to give up your games. Maybe now you know you are set in one place for a while you could get a tv from the US and get another playstation 2. We having gaming stores that resell them all the time (along with having hundreds of games in stock!). 😀

      • Shellie, shame on you! The US use the same system – NTSC (according to my techie friends, that stands for “Never Twice Same Colour”) The fun thing about the Wii is that Mrs Dim NEVER picked up a controller for the Playstation, even for the fun games like Lego Star Wars. She’s a rare player, but she’ll get on the Wii fit board, and she’ll grab a wheel for Mario Kart. She hates the kids having access to shooting games, so I limit those to my pc. And now I’m too guilt-ridden when I spend time gaming ‘cos I should be writing!

        • Shellie Sakai says:

          I know of guilt. I sneak into the livingroom to play Darksiders on Xbox 360 and feel the computer calling me names for leaving it alone. LOL! My husband likes to watch me get into the games because I talk back to the game! Its a one-sided conversation but, I enjoy it!

  2. Kerry Meacham says:

    Loved Pac-Man, and now have it on my Iphone. C<……….Q 😉

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      Hmmm never could get interested in Pac Man. I am still jealous you have an Iphone, I don’t. My Kid even has an Iphone! She love angry birds. Maybe I will get an Iphone when they have Zelda on it!

  3. Peter Saint-Clair says:

    I love Zelda, I have just about all of the games. On the GameCube they released a version of Zelda with several of the older ones on it…you ought to check it out.

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      I never got a GameCube. I wonder it that will play on the Wii. Thanks for the idea! My husband probably won’t but I do!

Leave a Reply

