Why writers are wicked cool

Today’s post is dedicated to writers and the wicked cool things we get to do.

  1. We can create our own worlds and “the world is our oyster”.
  2. We get to create the Hero/Heroine/Villian of our dreams and then tell them what to do. And most of the time they don’t talk back !
  3. We can have a romance that ends the way we want and no one can take it away (except the critique partner/group).
  4. We can kill off the characters we created and not go to jail for murder.
  5. Copyright – this means that other people can come play in our sand box but we can say “mine” without being selfish.
  6. Listening when someone is reading our books and knowing when they get the funny parts.
  7. We can scare the bejeezus out of people and not feel guilty that they have nightmares about our book.
  8. We get to sit at home, in our jammies (with or without bunny slippers), drinking coffee and have conversations with the people in our head. And not go to the looney bin.
  9. And last but not least,  is social media. The wonderful people we get to meet, visit with and call our friends. Now that is wicked cool.

Do you have a wicked cool writer that you like to read? Tweet to? Or if you are a writer what is the wickedest (yes, that is a real word) cool part of being a writer in your opinion?

Thanks for stopping by!

About Shellie Sakai

Reading is a passion. Storytelling is an obsession. Writing is inevitable.
This entry was posted in hero, social media, wicked, writers, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Why writers are wicked cool

  1. Jenny Hansen says:

    Dig the wicked cool post, Shellie!

    I like #4 and #9 best. I also like that writers get to have an excuse for the multiple personalities in our heads.

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      I agree! After outing myself as a writer I feel more normal in my abnormality. LOL!
      Thanks for the comment!

  2. My favorite is #1. I like the idea of creating new worlds.

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      Yes, it is great to create new worlds and we get to make all the rules. If we don’t like the rules we can start over!

      Thanks for the comment!

  3. I think this is post is wicked in itself.. My wickedest cool part of being a writer is being happy again, learning again, and scaring people in my life that I’m going to kill them off in my books! It’s funny how they immediately start kissing your rear….

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      Oh yeah baby! My friends are all wondering how they are going to end up, as villian or victim! I have an ex who is definately destined for destruction. And yes, the learning, doing and having fun is the wickedest cool part!

      Thanks for the comment!

  4. Pingback: Why writers are wicked cool… | Morgen Bailey's Blog

  5. cath says:

    Nice points Shellie! I especially like 8 & 9. I get to do #8 when I am painting too! And #9 has been fun. I am still just dabbling with social media but love to see what people have to say.
    cath (@jonesbabie)

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      What do you paint? I can’t even do fingerpainting ~hats off to you~. Social media is a blast! I have met so many nice people (you) and made, I hope, lifelong friends. I never would have connected with so many people if it hadn’t been for facebook and twitter.

      Thanks for the comment!

  6. I love this! And #8 and #9 are my favorites. Fun post..:)

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      Thanks for the kind words! I am not ashamed to admit it, I own bunnie slippers. And I wear them too!

      Thanks for the comments!

Leave a Reply

