Deserted Islands and Writers

Welcome to Wicked Writer Wednesday (#WWW)

Wednesday is dedicated to wicked writers and how cool it is to be one!

Today our topic is “As a writer what would you take to a deserted island?”

A list that I came up with is:

  1. Instruction book on how to make paper from palm trees.
  2. Tools to enable making paper from palm trees.
  3. Solar generator to create electricity to run satellite dish to receive signal for blackberry to access twitter and blog posts.
  4. Instruction book on how to create pencils from coconuts (tools on #2 should work here as well).
  5. Coffee maker that will run on #3.
  6. Instruction book that teaches how to grow, harvest and roast coffee beans.
  7. Roaster and grinder that will run on #3.
  8. Instruction book on how to organize time so WIPs won’t be interrupted by farming and roasting of coffee beans.
  9. An emergency beacon that runs on #3 to signal for help when #1,#4 and #6 turn out to not work because the island is inhabited by demons on vacay.
  10. And most important – Hubby to fight off demons as we split the island. And who won’t say “I told you so.”

So what would you take to a deserted island? Would coffee be on your list or would you want a different beverage? Do you in the words of Greta Garbo “Vant to be alone”? Or is there a special someone (like a green beret trained in survival technic) that you want to take with you? Please let me know, cause your list may be way better than mine!

Thanks for stopping by!

About Shellie Sakai

Reading is a passion. Storytelling is an obsession. Writing is inevitable.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Deserted Islands and Writers

  1. Katja says:

    The coconut paper would at least stand out from the slush pile! 😀

  2. I like the solar generator. It could run the lights I’d need to see at night since I’m a night owl. I’d sign up for a supply ship to drop by every week or so bringing me whatever I ordered from my laptop. Lemonade is a fav so that would definitely be on the list. My family is very important to me but they’re distracting so they could ride in on the supply ship for a visit but then I’d send them back home so I could get stuff done.

  3. LOL. If you can take solar generators, coffee makers et al, can I take my house, a small power station, Starbucks and a decent internet host?
    Cheers!

  4. PS
    The spider freaks me out!

  5. Pamela Mason says:

    Not ‘what’, but ‘who’… I’d take the Professor with me. That would be you, Shellie.
    And Josh Dumel. Duh…

  6. Katy Bennett says:

    Desert Island, how cool, how peaceful I’ll just read this book while the sun shines down on me. Wait, something’s rustling in the trees, arrgh undead cannibals.

  7. Kate C. says:

    I would bring all my favorite books. I guess that shows where I stand as a writer, doesn’t it? 😉

  8. Claire says:

    Haha, love #9. Gotta watch out for those demons! Also, to my deserted island, I would totally bring along one of my characters. He’s been trained in survival skills and is also conveniently (and ruggedly) attractive. Everybody wins! ;D

  9. Kathy says:

    Husband, cats, critique group, generator, laptop, air conditioner…

Leave a Reply

