What were they thinking?!!

Welcome to Wicked Writer Wednesday.

We have all seen it at one time or another. The fifty something woman in the pajamas, with the old dirty slippers and her hair up in what is supposed to be a cute messy bun. (Yes, that is the name of a hair-do, guys, I am not making it up.). She walked out of the house looking like that. Or the guy with the big belly hanging out from under his t-shirt and pajama bottoms on.  And then they went out in public, shopping. Is it just me? Or have people forgotten that the world does watch them. That at any moment a camera could take a very unflattering picture of them and their “ahem” outfit.

This picture comes from Wales, where the major retailer Tesco, put a no shoes, no pajamas shopping rule in effect. In other words, “Put on adult clothes, you are not a child”! Even when my children were little they did not go out in public in jammies, unless it was to rush them to the ER.

As a writer and typical nosy person, I stare at people. I watch them hoping that I will see something that will be useful sometime down the road for a book. But, I have to tell you, watching people now-a-days has gotten painful. There are times when I just want to pull the covers up and say “Please, please make it stop. Put some freaking clothes on that fit!”

Have you seen someone in the store and thought “What was he/she thinking?”  Do you think we have become a nation of “whatever road is easiest, that’s the one I’ll take”? (Oh, man, a whole new blog idea!) Should major retailers do what the store in Wales did, put in a dress code policy?

Thanks for stopping by….I need to go shopping, after I put my tutu on!

About Shellie Sakai

Reading is a passion. Storytelling is an obsession. Writing is inevitable.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What were they thinking?!!

  1. Jenny Hansen says:

    Fun post, Shellie!

    My girlfriend and I call each other with Fashion Patrols ALL THE TIME! I’m far from a fashion plate, but at least I match and have all the vitals covered…

  2. Shellie Sakai says:

    Agreed. I know that I am not a model. And my jammies never leave my house. 😀

    Thanks for commenting!

  3. Kathy says:

    It’s not just you.

  4. I like that the store in Wales set a dress code! I think Americans in general are too lazy with many things, including the way we dress. Just my opinion – and I’m just as guilty! When I was younger, I’d go out in my pjs….now, I get dressed & put on somewhat of a face!

  5. Wow. Those green, low-low-low-rise pants!

    No pajama-wearing shoppers in the stores here that I’ve noticed, but that could be because I’m not paying attention. 🙂

    Hi, spider!

  6. Kerry Meacham says:

    The ones I love are the ladies/gentlemen who decide to start an exercise regimen and also assume they can immediately wear Spandex in the pursuit of their goals. Based upon what I’ve see, Spandex is a privilege earned, and not a right. 99.9% of people should never wear Spandex. I’m thinking that if you’re over the age of 25 and not a competitive body builder or fashion model, then the answer is NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!

  7. Terrell Mims says:

    Go to peopleofwalmart.com then reply to me what you think.

  8. Sara says:

    So funny. I’ve seen it ALL working at a grocery store, let me tell you.

Leave a Reply

