Blogging vs. Writing, a dilemma

Most of you have a blog that you  feed while writing/editing your current work in progress. And you make it look effortless. So, I am asking for your secrets. Come on, spit it out. How can you pop off with a terrific blog post and then go on to write 4000 words in a day?

I am struggling to keep this blog in the background while keeping my writing in the foreground. Ain’t happening. This blog has become selfish. It consumes all of my thoughts, waking and sleeping. Yes, I dream about the silly thing. I obsess over my stats, how many visits and how few visits. I worry about my content. Is it engaging enough? How can I incorporate things that are in my books as part of my blog? Does my blog reach the potential audience that I want for my books?

See, obsessed. Yes, I know I use that word a lot. Probably because I am finding out that I am O.C.D. about writing. So, I am reaching out to my subscribers (I thank you so much) and to anybody who reads this silly thing. HELP!!

I would love any ideas on managing this out of control blog and most important how to reach an audience. The audience I strive for will not read a blog I am sure of that. I am writing for a YA audience. So this means I need to grab the parents attention. And in all of the blogs I read on writing no one has addressed this issue. Exactly how do you intrigue an audience that doesn’t know your book exists? How do you put parts of your writing in your blog so that they know what you are writing, without over sharing information that might change? Because make no mistake, every book that is in progress has a chance of losing that piece of itself that you just posted last week as a teaser.

Yep, see what I mean. Tied in knots, large hairy knots. So, if you have any suggestions, ideas or anything I would love to have them!

A big smoochie “Thank you” to everyone who has subscribed to this blog, read this blog and commented on it. I can’t tell you how happy you have made me. ~~Hugs~~

Thanks for stopping by…. now, back to trying to untangle these silly knots I made!

About Shellie Sakai

Reading is a passion. Storytelling is an obsession. Writing is inevitable.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Blogging vs. Writing, a dilemma

  1. Kathy says:

    My theory: blogs take the foreground because they’re more fun to write. When I finish a post, I feel I’ve accomplished something. Fiction is uncomfortably open-ended; who knows when I’ll finally get it right? I don’t put excerpts from drafts on my blog for the reason you state–things change.

    As to how to attract YA–can you grab the attention of librarians? They recommend a lot of books to young readers. They also buy the books they recommend.

    Good luck untangling knots. And a big thanks right back to you.

    • Luckily, I write shorter pieces, so I use the blog to get myself writing which leads to finishing other things. I’m not nearly writer enough to tackle larger, complex works. I agree with Kathy, though. Sometimes, you need to just finish something, even if it’s small.

      • Shellie Sakai says:

        I never thought about my blog that way. You are right. I do get a sense of accomplishment from my blog. When I hit the publish button, I feel “Ahh!” I got something done!

        Thanks for the comment!

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      Kathy, you are a genius! I never thought about librarians! 😀

      And you are right, blogs are short and to the point. I guess I am OCD about it being perfect.:/

  2. Ugh! Shellie Sakai…. Iloveyouforpostingthis!!!
    I am EXACTLY the same– now all I think of is blogblogblog. (Ever see Hoops&YoYo on the Hallmark site, where they walk back & forth saying that? It runs through my head like a never ending loop!)
    So…. finished gushing. Okay, constructive reply:
    Discipline & Structure, those boring neighborhood twins, along with their cousin… Accountability– They want in the treehouse, but Creative Thought and Expression are holding the ladder, denying them access. They can climb the tree branches, but it’s pretty hard to get a foot up on the first one without a hand from Maturity.
    Yes, I said it. I’m looking at friends who started at the same time as me, are advancing at a good pace, while I …
    …blog.
    So. We need to let in the bores. Discipline will make us turn a blind eye to the pretty bird singing in the branches, Structure will have us organize our time for both blog and story. CT and Expression will just have to learn how to work within the the bores’ framework.
    And now Maturity is at the base of the tree, holding the ladder until we get the blog posted and the 4000 words – crap though they may be – written.
    I’m in the tree house with you.

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      WOW! Pamela, I am sooooo jealous! You have more talent in your little pinkie than I do in my whole body!. 😀

      And I will play in the treehouse anytime with you!

  3. C.G. Powell says:

    I like to keep my blog short and simple. I use it as a warm-up to some real writing, finding it to be a good outlet for short stories and random thoughts. I don’t obsess about the numbers as the ones on bloger are normally wrong and make little to no sense. The point is, don’t get caught up in making a fantastic well written blog that you feel like you need to maintain daily with your best writing material in order to get the numbers you are looking for, it’s just a tool and you should treat it as such. Keep it light, short and spend no more than 30 mins on it, if book writing is what you truly want to do. Use it as a warm up or to brain dump ideas that are keeping you from working on your WIP.

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      You are so right. I keep forgetting that it is just a tool. A tool to be used and not one that I let use me. And thanks for the idea of using it as a brain dump. Sometimes I have ideas that are in the way of my wip and that is a good solution.

      Thank you for the comment! 😀

  4. I look at it this way – my blog is my journal….except it requires some research now and then. My writing is my job….it requires most of my day. That way, I can balance out the two.

    Blogging is my lunch break; Writing is my 8-5.

    Are you taking Candy’s class? I’m so jealous! 🙂

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      My yd keeps telling me to look at it like a journal. But, OCD here… So its going to take some discipline (yuck) to make it that way. I can’t have Scotty just whip up a quick fix for me! LOL!

      And yes, I am taking Candy’s class. And yes, she is whooping my ass!

  5. Great post and helpful comments. Thanks.

  6. I struggle with the same things you are but blogging is writing, too. It is giving you the experience to put together words, create thoughts and conclusions which is something you would do in a story. You are learning and growing your writing craft.
    I try to remind myself of this when I’ve gotten nothing else done but a blog. I am being productive, just not in the way I want to be. It’s a balance I am working on and imagine i will work on for awhile.

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      I know you are right. I tell myself that you are right. But, it doesn’t stop that little voice from telling me that I have been a slacker. I feel sometimes like I am on a tightrope with no balance bar. One little push in the wrong direction and down I go.

      Thanks for letting me know I am not alone. 😀

  7. I have no clue. none. I have written nothing for myself since taking Kristnen’s course, except the scenes for the pantomime that I had to write because my writing partners were holding a gun to my head. Well, buying me lunch, but it comes to the same thing. Doesn’t it?
    One da I shall write again. i know because it’s happened before and it’ll happen again, and when I have something I NEED to write, there is nothig in the world that will prevent me from writing it.

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      Yes I would say a gun equals lunch! LOL! I finally got 5 pages done on my wip yesterday. The first writing for my wip in two weeks. Hopefully this situation will change for both of us soon. I would love to read some of your plays……hint hint.

      And I will be there when you do write what you NEED to write, and I will be cheering you on. 😀

  8. Pingback: Naked Passion is Attractive in a Blog, Don’t You Think? | Jenny Hansen's Blog

Leave a Reply

