Life, love and friends

Life is funny. A choice or comment made can change the course of your life. No one knows when these moments will happen but, looking back you can see the path laid out. We call it being in the right place at the right time or conversely the wrong place at the wrong time. Fate, Destiny or Karma hold our attention and respect. But, it is actually us; we make these choices and take a right turn instead of a left. These choices sometimes have no impact at all when we make them. Its only weeks, months, years down the path when the consequences appear.

Twelve years ago I decided after looking at homes to buy, that I wanted to build one instead.  The realtor I was working with introduced me to a builder. I will never forget the day I met Pete. I watched him walk into the restaurant and just knew. It was as if time stood still and waited for me to decide. This decision would change my future. Corny, right? These moments never happen in real life. Wrong, they do happen in real life but, unfortunately what happens more often than not is we ignore them. And a chance is lost never to appear again.

I fell in love. I didn’t fight it, I let myself fall. And I am the most fortunate woman in the world because he loves me back. If I hadn’t decided to build a home, or had a different realtor I would never have met him. We have been married for 11 years and I have never been so happy.

I was lucky enough that I had this moment in time happen again. Months ago I made a decision to fulfill a dream. To write a book, but what I didn’t know is what this path held.

I posted last week that I was going to slow down on my blog. I was feeling too much pressure to perform. What happened when I posted that blog made me realize that the choice I made months ago showed just how different my life had become. Richer, not in money but, with friends. No matter if I never publish a book, short story or article I am still the better for the experience.

I want to say Thank you. Thank you for the great advice, the support and the concern. And for the wonderful hugs. I am working on taking your advice and putting it to use. It may take me a month to get myself lined out but, I will.

Thank you for being my friends.

About Shellie Sakai

Reading is a passion. Storytelling is an obsession. Writing is inevitable.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Life, love and friends

  1. Jenny Hansen says:

    What a lovely post, Shellie! Yep, you’ve got new friends, and it sounds like your choices have earned you a wonderful life.

  2. kerrymeacham says:

    That was a wonderful blog Shellie. Heartfelt, sincere, touching…I could go on and on, but I won’t. I’ll tweet a link so everyone else can see how great a person you are. Count me as a friend.

  3. Beautiful! And thanks for sharing your on true-life love story.

    Good luck with all your writing-blogging-dreaming. Keep us posted on your efforts (but only as often as you like ;-))

  4. K.B. Owen says:

    But you have to be a friend to have friends, Shellie. It doesn’t happen in a vacuum. So give yourself credit: you’re a great friend, and that’s why we care about you!

  5. pamelavmason says:

    No Shellie.
    Thank YOU.
    You share of yourself so freely… can’t wait for Wednesdays to visit you– you’re the best part of my day!

  6. Hang in there, Shellie. You are doing a great job.

  7. I just wanted to remind you that you’re a wonderful friend too! You are so very encouraging, especially when it comes to our writing. Remember that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

