THE DAY

This is a post I put on my blog in March of this year. Today I leave Haley in Washington to start her life as a college student and adult. I guess I just wanted to repost this because it says everything I am feeling today. Thank you for your support through this stressful time. Shellie

Have you ever woke up and realized things were no longer the same?  I have a daughter who is a senior in high school. She will soon graduate (may) and will be off to college. Out of state, away from home, gone…..

And it seems like everything is happening at once. Suddenly this was the last christmas/thanksgiving at home. Yeah, I know she will be back for the holidays (maybe). She will come home for summer (maybe). I woke up this morning and what has been going on is hitting me right between the eyes, “She is a grown-up”. No longer does she need me to help her make decisions. No longer does she need me to tell her what is right and what is wrong. Yes, I know she will always love me, but, she is not my little girl anymore.

She is ready to go out and live. Slay her own dragons, use ninjas to defeat her enemies and best of all, be all she can. She created her own saying “Who says I can’t do it all?” She decided that she would play volleyball in college and she will for a college in Washington with a scholarship. She decided that she wanted to be a chemical engineer and she has already lined out all her classes she needs to take. She decided in order to save money she would use an e-book reader and get all of her textbooks electronically. She is already thinking of inventions she can create to help people. She has made a million decisions regarding her future and they are all her. I look at my daughter and think, “Wow, I help create this person”. And I wonder how we did so well. She has more determination in her little finger than most people do in their whole bodies.

Differences of opinion don’t scare her.  My daughter lives life and enjoys everyone even the people who disagree with her. Life is a challenge and she has jumped in with both feet. I know she can get scared but, I also know that she can master her fear. Unless it’s about jumping out of planes and she won’t even go there.

So, I guess what I really want to say is “You go, girl!”. We will always be proud to call you our daughter. Live your life, don’t look back and keep your chin up… we love you.

About Shellie Sakai

Reading is a passion. Storytelling is an obsession. Writing is inevitable.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to THE DAY

  1. kerrymeacham says:

    Good luck to Haley…and to you Shellie. 🙂

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      Thanks Kerry. I remember the first time I posted this and your comment about your wife, that it took her two weeks to realize that being an empty nester was a good thing. I am setting myself up for the two week mark!

      Thank you so much for your support.

  2. Your daughter sounds amazing… you can be proud.

    My daughter leaves for college in a few weeks. And here I pause as the emotions well up. I hope your day is going well, and that you and your daughter continue to grow closer. What a crazy time!

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      Thanks Cindy.

      Blessings on you! I am sending you a virtual kleenex and a hug. I hope your daughter has an easy transition into her new life. Life is crazy. We want so much for our children to be independent and strong but, to still need us. Crazy. Hug your girl as much as you can, store up some good memories.

  3. You are a wonderful mom, Shellie! You have raised a beautiful and independent woman. You deserve to be proud of what you have both accomplished!

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      Thank you Tiffany.

      She is a wonderful person and I am very proud of her. Thanks for the kudos. I tell everyone that it is easy to raise a great kid when they are already a great person.

  4. Hey, Shelly. You did a great job raising your daughter. Now the fun part comes in watching her bloom. You’re in for a new adventure as you discover new depths to yourself and her as your relationship grows and changes. Have fun!

    P.S. How’s the writing?

    • Shellie Sakai says:

      Thanks Angela!

      I can’t wait to see her grow into her potential. And I look forward to our “adult” relationship. But, first I have to get through missing her!

      Writing? Not a word in the last two weeks. I am putting myself back on schedule on monday. That should help with the moping around. Besides Haley wants a completed manuscript by her birthday in October! Yikes!

  5. She sounds amazing, Shellie. What a great relationship you must have!

    I was kind of hoping she’d take that spider with her… 🙂

  6. pamelavmason says:

    I’m sorry I’m late… we started school this week, so I was distracted by real life.
    But I have been thinking of you and your transition. My son is still here … well, somewhat. In and out, catching a bite to eat, washing clothes, then back to work or school. He’s not so eager yet to venture out all on his own. I think he knows how good he’s got it here.
    My younger son? Can not wait to leave. Just turned 16, but acts like he’s 30. Has it all figured out, can hold his own with adults and peers, thinks he knows what he wants to do. He just needs some more maturing and help making decisions, but he’s pretty much good to go. I know he’ll end up on the other side of the world somewhere, New Zealand or the South Pole… he’s that kind of intrepid adventurer.
    I already miss him.
    Aw… now I’m crying!
    She’s a good girl Shellie, and you’re a good mom. I’m holding you in my thoughts.

  7. Shellie Sakai says:

    ~hands box of tissue~ Thanks Pamela. This is one of the hardest things I think I have ever done. And that includes giving birth to her! I haven’t had any other parents forewarn me about this “empty nester” syndrome, except Kerry. And it took his wife two weeks to decide it was okay to be an empty nester. I think it might take me a little longer.

    Pam, just remember that he is what you raised him to be. I am so proud of Haley and totally awed at the bravery she exhibited by moving so far from home. We have some wonderful kids and they will be even better as adults.

    Take care!

Leave a Reply

