To Perk or not to Perk

A long-standing debate in my house is the condition of coffee. What I mean by condition is:

  • Fresh brewed
  • hours old
  • day old
  • or…. instant

Now I love coffee. A little splenda, some half-n-half and I am in heaven, baby! But my hubby drinks it black all the way. High-grade, paint-peeling, any temperature, day old or not black coffee! Yuck!

I know, I know. Its shocking. I think that this is the reason why he doesn’t like to eat my cooking, he has no taste buds. (that’s my story and I am sticking to it.)

Any who, when we go on a road trip he is in heaven. Truck stop coffee. Oh, man! Diner coffee. High Five! And me, there isn’t enough sugar or creamers in the world to make it taste drinkable. Every truck stop/diner tastes like their coffee has been filtered by the same dirty smelly jock strap. A 17 yr old football players’ end of season, never washed because its lucky, jock strap.

Need I say more?

Don’t get me wrong I’m not really a coffee snob. I don’t have to drink 100% Kona coffee everyday (just a couple of months out of the year would be nice). So in trying to save my taste buds I drink stuff like, Dr. Pepper, Diet Pepsi and iced green tea for my morning caffeine fix. But, a cold caffeine drink in the morning just doesn’t seem right. Coffee should be hot, sweet and creamy. The rare exceptions to hot coffee is of course a Starbucks Carmel Frappacino. But, that is usually in the summer months and not very often.

So what is my solution to road trip Sahara desert? Take my coffee pot with me. That’s right. In its own special duffel bag. And in the morning make me some fresh, fragrant, perked coffee. (wipes drool out of corner of mouth)

What do you drink for caffeine on the road? Do you have deadened taste buds and any coffee is okay? Do you like truck stop coffee? Now is time to come out of the closet and declare “I won’t drink swill anymore!”. Join me in stopping the wanton destruction of our taste buds! LOL!

Thanks for stopping by, the coffee is hot. And I promise I won’t make you put half-n-half  in it!

P.S. The brand we normally drink is Yuban. Even their instant is great!

4 thoughts on “To Perk or not to Perk

  1. I perculate ALL the time. I can taste the difference of drip. If necessary I’ll do the Starbuck’s instant, but there’s just something smooth about perculated coffee. No electricity either, stovetop all the way. I’ll confess, my road tripping brings my home with me on the high seas, so it’s not very often I’m left to swill.

  2. Ooo, ooo, coffee snob over here! :-) I like my coffee hot all year round and prefer perked. If plain coffee, I take just creamer. I am partial to extra hot, skim lattes. I don’t like Starbucks regular coffee (too bitter for me), but like their lattes. For on the road, Dunkin Donuts has a good coffee (I like the hazelnut flavor) and McDonald’s regular brew is okay. Cracker Barrel’s coffee is pretty good. I won’t drink anything from gas stations/truck stops. For instant, Taster’s Choice is okay.

  3. Nice to be here guys, i’m a bit of a zombie addict. I like never write a comment but I had been discovering this site and I honestly appreciated it. This has a number of significantly excellent ideas that I can absorb. I have got to express, I have been unhappy fairly recently since my bro isn’t around.
    Browsing on the on-line world gives me a tiny piece of
    mind . I would personally choose to say thanks to you for this stellar web-site blog
    post that helps to spread the news in regard to zombies
    even more! I personally was curious as to if you currently
    have an email listing in order to remember to keep current at this site.

Leave a Reply

