Crowing

Now that I have passed the point of no return, have come through the valley of shadows and finally got my head out of you-know-where its time to do a little crowing. Crowing in the sense of tooting my own horn, making happy noises and of course doing a happy dance.

Let me explain. My last kid went to college the beginning of August. I spent the better part of August pouting, sad, depressed and just generally a gloomy gus. I just knew that something was going to happen to her, she was going to be super homesick or ~gasp~ lonely. I, of course, would have to ride to the rescue and save her from this horrible fate. The joke is so on me.

I went to Everett, Washington to visit her last week. And was it an eye opener. She is happy, safe, not homesick (except for her Idaho friends), and eager for her classes to start. Haley zips around town in her little vw and doesn’t even get lost! The nerve of her!

She does her own grocery shopping, gets gas for her car and knows all of the emergency numbers. Haley makes her own dinners, takes care of her landlady’s house and dog, and gets to volleyball practice on time. What is this world coming to?!!

I want to say all kidding aside that everyone told me it would be okay. Everyone reassured me that I would adjust to being an empty-nester. That the world would not come to an end because Haley was in Washington and I was in California. That she would still be my baby.

And you were right.

Thanks for stopping by…… >:)

About Shellie Sakai

Reading is a passion. Storytelling is an obsession. Writing is inevitable.
This entry was posted in college, daughters, family, ideas, quests, social media, writers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crowing

  1. Kerry Meacham says:

    My wife cried for about a week. She was a little sad the second week. The third week we were watching tv, and she looked at me and said, “Rachael being out of the house isn’t all bad.” 😉

    It’s all part of parenting I guess. She’s 28 now and she’s still our baby girl.

  2. I’m glad you’re adjusting, Shellie. Your daughter sounds like she’s doing pretty darn good, too. Keep on dancin’.

  3. I just knew that she’s succeed and make you proud. You did a great job raising her! Keep smilin’. Miss you

Leave a Reply

