The Tuesday Train and “p”

You thought I was going to say politics, didn’t you? Not this woman. Not now, not ever.

I will be more than happy to talk politics face to face, but get into a discussion over the internet? Nope, my mama didn’t raise any fools. Too much heat, too much anger for a “agree to disagree” discussion over the internet.

No, today’s post is about p. Yes, p as in going to the restroom, also known as “the water closet”, “the john” or just “the potty”. If you are grossed out by potty talk, sorry.

Maybe it’s my advancing age (almost fifty) or having given birth to three kids, but making sure that I have access to a ladies room is paramount. I’m not talking about the “coughing too hard, laughing too hard or even sneezing too hard” problems caused by having kids or old age. I’m talking about “drink a glass of water, find a bathroom immediately” problem.

I used to laugh at my mom and her insistence that we find a lady’s room immediately upon going into a store. Nope, not any more. I blame part of my new problem on blood pressure medicine, which is of course, a diuretic. Then my husband decided that I didn’t drink enough fluids. So, he started handing me water, Gatorade, milk, coffee, juice or lemonade all day long. ALL. DAY. LONG.

Yes, I love him and appreciate him caring for my welfare. But, for pity’s sake, I have seen the inside of more public bathrooms in the last 6 months than in the last six years! Home Depot is the most visited bathroom on my list, mainly because he is a contractor so we are always going to buy supplies. I can find the place blind folded.

Oh, and another thing: Do you get the urge, find the restroom, enter the stall and the minute you see the toilet you’re bouncing around like a five-year old with bad control? Yep, that’s new too.

Sigh. Guess what? I’m done, gotta go see a woman about a …. whatever, I have to go.

How good is your bladder control? Does a fountain or waterfall send you in search of a bathroom? Or are you a camel? Drink, drink and drink some more than wait eight hours to go to the bathroom?

Come on board the Tuesday Train, visit with some wonderful bloggers and make new friends!

And if you prefer Twitter, we now have the Twitter Train! Come on by, and meet some great people in the Twitter Train lounge!

About Shellie Sakai

Reading is a passion. Storytelling is an obsession. Writing is inevitable.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Tuesday Train and “p”

  1. C. K. Crouch says:

    Oh my too funny and such timing. I have a gyn appointment for bladder leakage tomorrow. Yes I tend to find the restroom in every store if there’s one. When I was living in East TX the Wal Mart there had closed the ones at the front of the store for remodeling. I almost died trying to reach the back of the store. Oh and why are women’s restrooms so damned small? The stalls are designed for toddlers unless you grab the handicapped one. I have a really bad knee and try to grab that one.

  2. Angela says:

    Hey, Shelly. I’m inclined to think it’s the blood pressure medicine or at least that’s my story and I’m sticking with it. I seem to have the same problems, too. Although I call it the tip-toe peepee dance (I didn’t come up with that, a friend did, but it fits to a tee) when I’m just about into the bathroom and it seems like I can’t get there fast enough.

    Here is what I read on MedicineNet.com under Treatments for the chronically incontinent:

    Sometimes treatment failures are due to concurrent use of other necessary medications, such as diuretics (water pills that increase urination), that actually can cause incontinence.

    In case you haven’t guessed I’m on blood pressure meds and the problem started about the same time the meds did.

    Here is the link to the whole article:

    http://www.medicinenet.com/overactive_bladder/article.htm

    Good luck and let us know what the doctor says, please.

  3. lessandragr says:

    I’m sorry, I don’t even know you – but I did read your post. And I am a woman and “been there done that” and because I’m older than you thought it came with age – but it turned out to be a Bladder Infection! So, let’s hope that’s what you have, because that’s an easy fix. Good luck! (Really enjoyed reading):)

Leave a Reply

