The Tuesday Train and no black friday

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving. Now, onto my rant-fest. I promise I will only do this once this Christmas season.

Shopping, shopping, shopping.

Black Friday, Small Business Saturday and Cyber Monday… three days dedicated to an orgy of spending. Not family time, but money time. Which store is going to give the best deal on that humongous flat screen tv? Or the pc/table/phone? Xbox or PS3 which one will give the best deal with console and games?

It also seems that all we can see on t.v. right now is shopping mixed with ads for Christmas shows. So in a five-minute commercial break, I can buy three different kinds of cars (one from Santa at Chevy), ties for my husband, jewelery for me and all the while I can eat at McDonald’s/Golden Corral/Applebee’s, oh and don’t forget plugging my electronic device to U-Verse because everything else is too slow according to some tweens.

Whew! I didn’t know that I was so talented! Or so rich!

Seriously, I don’t know about you but I get so disgusted with the constant buy!buy!buy! on television that I won’t watch it. I refuse to relegate Christmas to one big gimme fest.

What are we teaching our children when all they can think about right now is what loot they’re going to get on Christmas morning? Is greed a legacy that we as Americans want to pass on to future generations?

I love Christmas. I enjoy giving presents and receiving them. I am not Scrooge. I am anti-commercial. I just wish we could stop all of the craziness now. We just got over the election madness and now its on to the silly season.

My apologies for whining.

Come on board the Tuesday Train, visit with some wonderful bloggers and make new friends!

And if you prefer Twitter, we now have the Twitter Train! Come on by, and meet some great people in the Twitter Train lounge!

About Shellie Sakai

Reading is a passion. Storytelling is an obsession. Writing is inevitable.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Tuesday Train and no black friday

  1. Camille says:

    I hate how commercial the holiday season has become too. 😦 I try to avoid it as much as possible and get my shopping done earlier in the year.

  2. Jane Sadek says:

    Rant away! You’re giving voice to a lot of people. The pendulum has swung way out there and it’s time for it to go in the other direction. I applauded Nordstrum’s decision to hold back the holiday decorations until after Thanksgiving. It was a small thing, but a good one.

  3. Pingback: Calm During the Holidays – Is that Even Possible? | Calm.Healthy.Sexy.

Leave a Reply

