The Tuesday Train and WIP

I have a WIP. And it needs help. From a highlighter.

If I have you confused let me unconfuse you. A WIP is a writer’s acronym for Work In Progress. Also know as a book currently under construction. A first draft so to speak. It can also be the second, third, fourth, etc, etc… you get the idea.

I love a good acronym as much as the next person. I enjoy talking on my cell in public and saying “Yeah, tonight my husband gets to see my WIP.” With a straight face.

But I digress. Okay, using a writing method called Fast Draft, an innovation of Candace Havens, I wrote 45,000 words that I want to keep. And then I wrote 15,000 words that need to be edited to fit into the draft or WIP of my book.

So today I stared at my WIP. Just sat and stared for a good hour. Why? No freaking idea. Seemed like the thing to do at them time. I know I need to cut my baby up. Prune it with a vengeance. But, I sit with the highlighter clenched in my hand, frozen in time.

I need to mark one word as wrong, just one and then it will flow. But, which word do I pick? Which of my magnificent pearls of wisdom do I highlight out of existence?

Maybe if I slip some whiskey into my coffee I will be able to make paper dolls of this monstrosity that has its fingers firmly clasped around my heart.

My issue with this WIP? My Main Character is a doofus. No, really, he turned out to be an absolute idiot and my Sidekick Character is actually the hero. So, see… no easy fix this. AARRGH!!! I just want to slap them both sensible. But, no, this is what happens when imaginary people actually have a say in your life.

Pass the whiskey, please………

Come on board the Tuesday Train, visit with some wonderful bloggers and make new friends!

And if you prefer Twitter, we now have the Twitter Train! Come on by, and meet some great people in the Twitter Train lounge!

About Shellie Sakai

Reading is a passion. Storytelling is an obsession. Writing is inevitable.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Tuesday Train and WIP

  1. C. K. Crouch says:

    HI Shellie, I’m not quite to that point yet. I’m trying to reach the end of the story BEFORE I whack it to pieces. I did NaNoWriMo but didn’t reach the end of the story. It seems I can write flash fiction of 100-150 words but a novel of 50-60 K? I have 76,000 plus words and I know a lot of it will crach and burn. But I can’t do that until I find the end. Know the end just not the direct path there yet.

  2. Maybe you need wine instead of whiskey. 😉 Hope you get your WIP whipped onto shape soon!

    Thanks for hosting the train – have a great week! 🙂

    Random Apology, The Review Guru Unleashed, Egg In A Nest Fun, Funny Homework and Birthday Goodies – RTT Rebel

Leave a Reply

