A Brick on Amazon

I threw a brick on Amazon and it just laid there. Didn’t do a damn thing. Oh, wait, I take that lie back. It did sell a few copies, I gave away a few copies and then it just sat there.

single-brick

But, you say, isn’t that what bricks are supposed to do? They are the structure for homes, walkways, patios and barbeques. They can be the wall that holds up the interior walls of hospitals, churches and schools. Bricks are fantastic when you are building, but, not so much when you are writing a book. Unless you are writing about bricks…

A brick shaped book is not a good thing. It is a non event, a failure, a doorstop. No one wants to read a brick, least of all the creator of said brick (me).

So now that I know I created a brick, what should I do with it? First item on the agenda was taking it down from the Amazon website, next revise? Or maybe throw it under the bed and forget it even existed? Let it be company for the dust bunnies.

dust bunnies

After months of indecision, I decided to revise it. Even though popular opinion says, once a brick always a brick. That you can’t correct your first mistake, can’t do take backs. I understand this, but, even if I never make another sale, I had to try.

can't

It is a fearsome thing to say that “can’t” in no longer part of my vocabulary. In saying this, in saying “I can”,  I am going to revise and repost my brick. It may take me months (oy-vay) but it will get done.

Another thing happened when I re-read my brick. I saw for the first time that there was a glimmer of talent. I can write believable scenes and plot a story. That my sarcastic humor comes across in my writing voice. That I can do this, I can write a book and have people enjoy it.

So, my decision made I pulled my brick from Amazon. I have my chisel in one hand and a hammer in the other. This brick will be made into a book and I am excited to see the end result.

Thanks for stopping by, take care!

About Shellie Sakai

Reading is a passion. Storytelling is an obsession. Writing is inevitable.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Brick on Amazon

  1. Jenny Hansen says:

    Good for you, Shellie!

  2. Gaye says:

    It takes a lot of courage to write a book, and even more courage to rewrite it. Good for you! I am still working up the courage for the first step, so I admire you.

Leave a Reply

